Amish made hardwood

It is currently Sat Sep 07, 2024 10:03 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Refinishing 5/16 top nail need some pointers (nail type)
PostPosted: Wed Nov 25, 2020 2:54 pm 
New User

I moved into a house with a neglected 5/16 red oak floor. There's a few spots with big holes drilled in the middle or water damage or high wear that just had some extra poly poured over it and some very squeaky subfloor and some rug damage, all things Id like to fix. It's about 500sqft and I'm hoping to tackle it myself.

There's maybe 25-50sqft that I'd like to replace completely before I start sanding either due to water damage or the need to fix squeaky subfloor underneath etc. and all I currently have for a nailer is a 16 Gauge straight nailer. Will that work? If not what do I need?

If I said anything obviously wrong or ignorant please let me know, this is my first time doing wood floor work so I'm sure there's lessons to be learned one way or another :).

Profile E-mail  

Post subject: Re: Refinishing 5/16 top nail need some pointers (nail type)
PostPosted: Wed Nov 25, 2020 11:18 pm 
Prized Contributor