hardwoodfloorTV Hardwood Installer
It is currently Wed Jul 23, 2014 8:54 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Do I have to sand in between poly coats
PostPosted: Wed Oct 14, 2009 7:21 pm 
Offline
Newbie Contributor

Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2009 11:59 am
Posts: 22
I saw a poly oil finish that says you do not have to sand between coats if you put it on within 12 hrs of the first coat. Has anyone use this? Also any help would be appreciated on letting me know best way to apply to floor. I was told not to pour it on the floor but use a paint tray and dip my applicator in the paint then apply to floor. My questions are how will I know when to redip into the pan and is it easy to get to much poly on the applicator when appling to the floor. Then when I go to restart on the floor to avoid marks do always start at a new row or have a little wet spot for the new row before i dip back into the pan. As you can see I do have lots of question but I am hoping for the best results possible when having to do it yourself. Do to some unfortunate things it is impossible for me to get a professional to do the floor. Thanks for your help


Top
 Profile  
 
Find Professionals

 Post subject: Re: Do I have to sand in between poly coats
PostPosted: Thu Oct 15, 2009 6:24 am 
Offline
Prized Contributor

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 11:04 am
Posts: 1277
Location: Richmond Hill, Ontario
Generally, water-based finishes will chemically bond coat-to-coat if applied within a specific time of each other. After that period, mechanical bonding (buffing) is necessary. Always a good idea to trust the manufacturer of the product you are using to determine their limitations and usability.
Also, if using water based, using a watering can to pour out a bead of finish along the direction you are applying, then flowing it out with your applicator, will result in a more uniform coat. It will take some time to figure out the amount of finish along the bead, but by the time the first coat is down, you should have a fair idea.

_________________
Dennis Coles
http://www.darmaga.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Do I have to sand in between poly coats
PostPosted: Thu Oct 15, 2009 7:43 am 
Offline
Prized Contributor

Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2005 12:05 pm
Posts: 1334
Location: Knoxville,Tn
you can coat oil poly as well if you stick in that window.

_________________
Kevin Daniel
Heartland Hardwood Flooring
Knoxville, Tn
www.HeartlandHardwoodFlooring.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Do I have to sand in between poly coats
PostPosted: Thu Oct 15, 2009 8:40 am 
Offline
Newbie Contributor

Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2009 11:59 am
Posts: 22
I will be using a oil poly. I can I tell for sure when the first layer is dry enough to apply the 2nd coat ect.. Also I have seen videos where they use a lambs wool applicator and then where they use a roller like a paint roller on a long handle. Which would be easier for getting a good finish. Should I do something to the lambs wool applicator if I use it to be sure there is no loose fibers. Here is my thought on how I will be applying it. I will start at far end of room then the length of the room for first strip and then make a small say 3' strip at the corner going the other way for the applicator to be started and ended in each time I go the length.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Do I have to sand in between poly coats
PostPosted: Thu Oct 15, 2009 9:26 am 
Offline
Prized Contributor

Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2005 12:05 pm
Posts: 1334
Location: Knoxville,Tn
I like to roll with a short nap roller like a 3/8 or 5/16 pro dooz by wooster. rolling only works with thick polys like masterline, fabulon, parks pro, lenmar, woodline are a few. Dont try it with regular dura seal its too thin and you will get a texture from the roller because it will dry too quick to level properly. I pull my cut in around the wallsand caseings first then roll with the dirction of the flooring from wall to wall keeping a wet edge . Youll know your putting it down right by the sound of the roller. Too much and it will just skid across the floor with out spinning. Too little it wont make the sticky sound like it sould be as its rolling. Kinda stupid way to expalin but thats about the short of it. If you want to mop it instead I prefer the synthetic applicator vs the lamby, wools will shead the first 3-4 times you use them even if prepped so new ones are really only good for base coats.

_________________
Kevin Daniel
Heartland Hardwood Flooring
Knoxville, Tn
www.HeartlandHardwoodFlooring.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Do I have to sand in between poly coats
PostPosted: Thu Oct 15, 2009 10:04 am 
Offline
Newbie Contributor

Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2009 11:59 am
Posts: 22
I think the type of poly is Varthane in satin. What other type of applicator besides the wool one is there. The only one in the store by this product is the wool one. Also can I wear just a mask or do I need to buy the respirator mask that is about $35.00. I guess you can tell how nervous I am about this step. Things I am worried about are the bubbles and getting it on okay not to thick because of the temp here and no heat on at the house and of course no lint or fuss


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Do I have to sand in between poly coats
PostPosted: Thu Oct 15, 2009 10:33 am 
Offline
Prized Contributor

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 11:04 am
Posts: 1277
Location: Richmond Hill, Ontario
Well I think the primary concern here is the temperature. Check on the can for optimal application temp., and remember that the floor AND the finish should be at the same temperature for best results.

_________________
Dennis Coles
http://www.darmaga.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Do I have to sand in between poly coats
PostPosted: Thu Oct 15, 2009 10:45 am 
Offline
Prized Contributor

Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2005 12:05 pm
Posts: 1334
Location: Knoxville,Tn
my primary concern is using varathane. If you can take it back and get something from the list above. Varathane is very very difficult to apply and doesnt hold up for shiz. If you choice is limited to the big box try to find the parks pro at home cheapo or blowes. I would doa quick search and find the local hardwood flooring distributor in the area and go there its going to be the same price or less and you will have a much easier time with putting it down. I wouldnt put varathane in my mother in laws dog house.

_________________
Kevin Daniel
Heartland Hardwood Flooring
Knoxville, Tn
www.HeartlandHardwoodFlooring.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Do I have to sand in between poly coats
PostPosted: Thu Oct 15, 2009 11:08 am 
Offline
Newbie Contributor

Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2009 11:59 am
Posts: 22
Thanks for the quick reply I will look for the other types of poly. Not sure where all I can get it. But I will shop around today.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Do I have to sand in between poly coats
PostPosted: Thu Oct 15, 2009 11:46 am 
Offline
Newbie Contributor

Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2009 11:59 am
Posts: 22
Will the synthetic pad leave more marks then the wool. I would rather use synthetic if that is better because of no shedding. I am hoping to do a final cleaning on the floors today using a tack cloth and going over with a micor fiber also. Should I wet a cloth and go over for the final wipe off. If so do I use ninerial spirts or water. I hope to apply 1st coat of poly on Sunday. Will the other kinds that you have listed let you re coat without sanding between coats or do we need to sand


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Do I have to sand in between poly coats
PostPosted: Thu Oct 15, 2009 7:24 pm 
Offline
Newbie Contributor

Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2009 11:59 am
Posts: 22
have you heard of Zar poly. The hardware store up here said it is what alot of contractors get because is does a good job and dries fast. I am not sure if I want it to dry to fast on me. I also talked with a company up here that does floors. They said it would cost me about $1000.00 for them to come and put on the poly(that is out of question)told them that I really needed to put it on myself because of other reasons right now. They did say they have a professional product at $45.00 per gallon they would sell me. They did not say what it was. They suggested I put on a sealer first(not sure what that is) then 2 coats of this poly they have. I did clean out all of the registers tonight and turned the furnace on to let get cleaned out and will go back and do a final clean tomorrow. With it being so cold they suggested I start it up and let it run and do a final clean and it would be okay to keep it on at that point. Said I should not get to much dust. I did find the other product you suggested the pro stuff. So I guess know I am looking to see which one would be the best. The total sq ft of this house is only 800sq upstairs that we are redoing. In that 800 sq ft is a small kitchend and small bathroom.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Do I have to sand in between poly coats
PostPosted: Fri Oct 16, 2009 6:18 am 
Offline
Prized Contributor

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 11:04 am
Posts: 1277
Location: Richmond Hill, Ontario
As I alluded to in an earlier post, having the heat on will make the biggest difference in the quality of your project.
Floor finishers are very particular about what products they use, and what works (and is claimed to be) the best finsh for one person, another might say it is "shoot".
Stay away from products geared for DIY application, they have so many self leveling, anti-bubble, and drying agents mixed into them that the durability suffers.

_________________
Dennis Coles
http://www.darmaga.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Do I have to sand in between poly coats
PostPosted: Fri Oct 16, 2009 1:51 pm 
Offline
Newbie Contributor

Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2009 11:59 am
Posts: 22
Looks like I will be putting on one layer of sealer and then the poly 2 or 3 coats. I am going to try for 3. I will sand between coats with a pole sander and clean with vacume and mineral spirits on a damp rag. How long after I wipe with mineral spirits due I have to wait to put the next coat on. Does it take awhile for the min spirits to dry?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Do I have to sand in between poly coats
PostPosted: Sat Oct 17, 2009 1:43 pm 
Offline
Newbie Contributor

Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 8:09 pm
Posts: 37
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
If you are using oil based.. you don't have to wait at all.. you can dump some in your finish if you want to.. Its solvent based. Good to go!

_________________
Fast Pasquale
Pasquale Floors
Cleveland, Ohio


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Do I have to sand in between poly coats
PostPosted: Sat Oct 17, 2009 3:47 pm 
Offline
Prized Contributor

Joined: Sat May 02, 2009 3:45 pm
Posts: 2817
Location: Tucson AZ
OMG speedy is here lol

_________________
Stephen Perrera
Top Floor Installation Co.
Tucson, Arizona
Floor Repairs and Installation in Tucson, Az
http://www.tucsonazflooring.com


Top
 Profile  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

phpBB SEO